Skip to content

Rest Weeks

Today starts my rest week and I am so excited! It’s nice to have some shorter runs and plus, this week is so busy I’m not sure how I would have managed anything longer. Back when I use to write my own training plans, I would always include an easy week after 3 hard weeks of training but I never followed it. Now that I’m paying somebody to tell me to go easy, I think I’ll listen.

Why are rest weeks important?

Pete Pfitzinger:

To optimize your training, you need to find the ideal balance between training and recovery. Training provides the stimulus for your body to adapt, but recovery is when you allow your body to positively adapt and improve. Done right, your training provides a stimulus for your body to adapt to a higher level, which is called supercompensation. If you want to get the most out of your training and race your best, then you need to get your work/recovery ratio correct not just this week, but over the series of weeks leading up to your goal race(s), and over the course of the year. Let’s look at how to get the right balance in your training during the lead-up to a goal race and over the annual cycle.

Easy days after hard workouts are great, but they don’t give your body the time it needs to repair adapt. An easy week will do more for your body. And if anything, it gives you a mental break. Because I’ve been working so hard these past few weeks, I welcome the break. That way, I’ll be ready to try hard again starting next week.

Here’s to an awesome week!

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: I ran a little over 4 miles today and felt great. The weather here in NC is unseasonably warm and I love it! Average pace of 7:39 and stats are here. 

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. enjoy this week!

    December 10, 2012
  2. MikeW #

    Tracie, awesome knowledge. Thanks for edifying your readers with it! All the best to you as you train on…

    December 11, 2012

Leave a Reply

