Skip to content

Back Hypers

Other than running a whole lot, my coach has me doing general strength exercises. Last week he sent me a list of what those exercises include and I knew all of them except one – the back hyper.

The back hyper is an exercise that works the lower back as well as the mid and upper back. As a runner, a strong lower back is important because running involves repetitive, constant impact as you move forward. When your feet hit the ground one after another, your feet, knees, hips and, ultimately, your back are subject to absorbing impact. If you’re a distance runner, this means your back and back muscles are subject to long time periods of exposure. (Rachel Nall). 

To do the back hyper, you can use a roman chair or simply lay down on the ground. Detailed instructions can be found here or you can just watch this video.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: No running today but I did my general strength workout. I’m looking forward to my easy week. I think I’m starting to get sick so it’ll be good for my body.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

