Skip to content

Why You Should Never Give Up

Today someone asked me don’t you ever want to go home and watch tv? Or even just skip a workout? Honestly, yes. Especially today. I’ve been running a lot more than usual and my days seem to be getting longer and longer. My legs and body feel tired.

Today’s workout had me nervous. A 2 mile warm up, 3 miles at half marathon pace (6:51/mile), and a 2 mile cool down. I was tired, hungry, and not in the mood. In an effort to get in the mood for a hard workout, I spent about 10 minutes trying to get my mind right. If I could just get through the next hour, life would be fabulous. I had to remind myself why I shouldn’t give up and why some couch time may be what I want at that moment, but it’s clearly not what I want in the future. My goal is a 1:30 half marathon and a sub 3:20 marathon, and I have to work for that. It’s all about what you really want.

TinyBuddha.com has a list of some great reasons on why you should never give up on your dreams that really resonated with me.

1) Why did you want to pursue this goal to begin with—and has anything changed? I want to achieve this goal to prove to myself that I am capable of great things. 

2) What’s the worst that will happen if you keep going and don’t reach your goal? I’ll have great leg muscles and a pretty low resting heart rate. I’ll take it.

3) Are you afraid of succeeding? I don’t think I’m afraid of succeeding. However, sometimes I think I’m afraid of the hard (painful) work it will take to get there. 

4) Are you acting on impulse or emotion instead of thinking things through? If I sit on the couch instead of trying, yes, I am acting on impulse. I’m not going to let that happen. I will remember my goal.

5) Would you enjoy giving a loved one the honest explanation for why you gave up? If I had to tell Mario, my coach, or even my blogger friends why I called it quits on a really important workout day, just uttering those words would bring such a feeling of disappointment. Not going to happen. 

6) Would your life be better if you gave up on this goal? Nope. I’d actually be pretty miserable. 

7) How much have you already put in? Well let’s see, I’m paying someone to help me with this, I spend quite a significant amount of time running or thinking about running, and this is something I’ve wanted for years. I’d say I’m pretty well vested in this adventure.

And this is the one that stuck with me the most…

8) What would you tell someone else if they were in your shoes? I spend so much time during the day tell my students they should try harder, look at obstacles as opportunities, and just be amazing. If one of them were in my situation, wanting to take the easy way out, I would put their running shoes on their feet and push them out the door. I would never let them get by with saying “I’m just too tired.”  Therefore, I must treat myself the same way. 

There are easy days and there are hard days. This week has had quite a few hard days, but I’m happy to say I made it through. Now that I know I can survive a few hard days, it won’t be so difficult when it happens again.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Run Update: For as nervous as I was about my workout, it actually went by super fast. When it’s only 7 miles and 3 of those miles are at a pretty fast pace, you’re done in no time. Stats are here but my half marathon pace splits were 6:53, 6:47, and 6:47. And now I think I will go finish my glass of wine 🙂

 

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Great post, thanks for sharing! I will think about these questions next time I consider staying in bed instead of going to the gym or to run in the morning! These are good questions, I would have to agree with your answer on number 3. I never really thought about it that way.

    December 7, 2012
    • Thanks Adrienne! Those questions were a HUGE help to me on Friday afternoon when I wanted to call it a day after work. We must always keep our eye in the prize 🙂 I hope you are having a great weekend!

      December 8, 2012

Leave a Reply

