Skip to content

Perspective

The more cold showers I take, the more they become warm showers. The more I wake up at the very early hour of 4:45 am, the less early it becomes. And the more I run, the shorter a 6 mile run seems. My perspective is constantly changing.

Perspective has many definitions. Cognitive perspective can be defined as the choice of a or a reference (or the result of this choice) from which to sense, categorize, measure or codify experience, cohesively forming a coherent belief, typically for comparing with another. In my high schools days, one mile seemed like a great distance. In college I remember being so proud for running 2 miles. The first time I ran 6 miles, I felt like I had covered a distance unknown to humankind. And the first time I made it into the double digits, it was an accomplishment worthy of a weekend celebration.

Today is my last day of running for the week and I have completed a total of 46 miles. I feel great. Running every day for 6 days straight is new territory for me. I’m use to a lot of cross training (mainly to avoid injury) but I’m surprised at how normal 10 miles felt on Wednesday evening. My view on running is forever changing and this is what makes me a better runner. A new perspective opens a new world. And I like a world with lots of miles.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: I had a great hilly 12 miles with Mario this morning. Stats are here.

15 Comments Post a comment
  1. I have ‘perspective’ tattoo’ed on my wrist to remind me to not sweat the small things and maintain balance in my life 🙂

    December 1, 2012
    • I love it! What a great way to always have that reminder around. I always said the only tattoo I would ever get would be an Ironman symbol (if I ever managed to do one.) But I really like your idea… 🙂

      December 2, 2012
      • Thanks! It’s also the name of a book about balance, written by two of my professors at university who work with elite athletes. I was going to get ‘perseverance’ on my other wrist, but the first one hurt too much so I decided against it!

        December 2, 2012
      • Ok so I just tried to find Perspective on Amazon and I got a lot of books on art. Who are the authors and do you think it’s available on Amazon? I really want to check it out!

        December 2, 2012
      • It’s called ‘Perspective: the Key to Life’ by Cal Botterill and Tom Patrick. It’s available on Amazon.ca, maybe they deliver to the states?

        December 2, 2012
      • Thanks! I looked it up yesterday and I’m not sure if they deliver to the states or not. I’ll keep a check on it 🙂

        December 3, 2012
  2. I can completely relate. While I was still in the Marine Corps. Running was punishment. Or worse yet work. It’s funny how I now look forward to my next run. I’m working on running 6 days a week. Still just cross training for now, although I have to for triathlons.

    December 2, 2012
    • Agreed! When I was made to run a mile in middle school, I’d try and cut across the field so I could cheat 1/2 a lap. Crazy how things change. When is your next triathlon?

      December 3, 2012
      • hoping to do register for a half iron man for the end of 2013. In the mean time really enjoying obstacle racing and of course just good ol’ running.

        December 3, 2012
      • Half IM – awesome! Good luck with the training and all the obstacle running until them 🙂 Have a great Tuesday!

        December 4, 2012
  3. Great post! My perspective on running is ever changing as I break into new territory each week. It’s a very cool process huh?!

    December 2, 2012
    • Thanks and YES it is a very cool process. It’s also fun to think what my mentality may be a year from now. 🙂 I hope you’re having a great Monday!

      December 3, 2012
  4. 46 miles! that is fantastic. Great work.
    Perspective is important and ever changing. My running friends and I now run 5K and 10Ks just for fun and a half-marathon is a nice afternoon activity. And people think we are crazy for running a 10K at lunch time to keep in shape!

    December 7, 2012
    • I know! Isn’t it crazy how things change? Do you think you’ll ever transition to ultras?

      December 8, 2012
      • I don’t know. 26.2 is still very challenging to me and I still have that dream of a BQ. But, I plan on doing this for a long time and my perspective may change.

        December 8, 2012

Leave a Reply

