Skip to content

Greens Energy Bars

Although bars aren’t my favorite thing to eat, they are sometimes all I can manage while teaching 100 students during the day. This morning I was eating a Greens Energy Bar and my students were quite curious. They all wanted to know what’s in it? Deliciousness I told them.

I picked up the Greens Energy Bar per recommendation of the cashier at Trader Joe’s a few weeks ago. Since then, I’m 100% sure they are the reason why our grocery bill has gone up quite a bit. They aren’t cheap but they have SO much good stuff. According to their website:

We’ve combined organically grown superfoods, soy protein, high energy herbal extracts and a little bit of honey to produce the only cold-processed, alkaline-forming green food bar. The Greens Plus Energy Bar contains no processed sugar, salt, corn syrup, hydrogenated oil, synthetic sweeteners, preservatives, or genetically modified foods of any kind.

The Greens Plus Energy Bar delivers low-glycemic carbohydrates, protein and essential fatty acids that supplies a steady stream of energy throughout the day. Perfect for athletes seeking an edge, students, travelers, children of all ages, and anyone in need of optimum energy, superior well being, and peak performance. Eat one bar as a healthy snack between meals, or two bars for a complete meal replacement. For best results, chase with 8oz of pure water. Store in a cool dry place or refrigerate for extended shelf life.

Fooducate doesn’t give the bars the best grade. Probably because it has so many ingredients and 22 grams of sugar (but all natural sugar). It’s a dense bar that is actually green on the inside, and I’m not sure that I would eat two as a meal replacement. But as an athlete seeking optimal energy, I highly recommend this alkaline forming, green bar. I’ll take all the superfoods I can get packed in dark chocolate.

 

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: In 4 days, I have run a little over 30 miles. Today’s 6 miler turned into 6.4 miles and it was an easy effort. However, I need to find a new six mile route because downtown Raleigh has a few too many stoplights. This afternoon, I was particularly tired (maybe due to lack of sleep and our celebratory bottle of wine last night). However, I felt better once I got going. Stats are here.

Leave a Reply

