Skip to content

I am Thankful for…

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone! I hope you all are having a day full of family, food, and running of course. This morning I was able to get in  my 5 miler before heading home to Roxboro to spend time with the family. I quickly figured out what I love about running on Thanksgiving  – no cars on the street! It was glorious and it made me appreciate running even more. I’m not sure what can be more liberating than running through the streets alone, in a normally busy city.

Being that today is Thanksgiving, I’d like to take  a moment to give thanks for all of my favorite running things. Sure, running may only require a pair of shoes but there are some things that make this individual sport a little easier.

I am thankful for my many pairs of running shoes that have carried me for many miles. I am thankful for my 5 iPod shuffles that I have gone through, my three Garmins (one stolen and one returned), and my favorite lululemon running crops.  I am thankful my favorite Nike running hat has been with me for almost every single race since 2009 . Some of my other favorite running gear that I am thankful for are my new lululemon running gloves (amazing!), my neon green arm warmers, my orange Boston Marathon jacket, and my Kenyan headband from Jenny. Food is something I am always thankful for and in particular food I can eat because I am a runner. Second Surge, thank you. Sweet potato fries, you have been amazing. Hoppyum IPA and turkey burgers from The Rockford, you are my Saturday afternoon staple and I thank you for always being there.  But perhaps the thing I am most thankful for is the running community. There is nothing that can compare to a group of people who understand waking up at 6am on a Saturday morning, black toenails, salt on your face, chafing, GI issues, why continuing to run is the right thing to do when all you want to do is sit down, or the importance of rotating shoes. Runners understand each other and when runners meet, there is an unsaid mutual understanding. I’m pretty sure that without my running community friends, I would not be where I am today. Thank you.

I hope you all have a safe and happy holidays! It’s back to the grind tomorrow! And check out the animal fun at my sister’s house today. Cats, dogs, chickens, and (previously) goats until they ran away. 😦 This makes me really wish we had a pet.

 

Big Yellow, Jazzmine, and Oliver

 

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

 

Running Update: I ran a little over 5 miles this morning and it felt great. The pace was sub 8:00 (I don’t have the stats uploaded yet) and some miles were around 7:40. Tomorrow is an easy 3 miler and then a long run on Saturday.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Looks like the new running program suits you! Happy Thanksgiving; wouldn’t it be fun to run with a pet goat?

    btw, did you ever get the email I sent you?

    November 22, 2012
    • I can only imagine running with a goat – could be a new challenge though. I tried running with my sister’s dog once and that was a nightmare. The dog is an EXTREMELY hyper dog and she tried to chase every single person we ran by in the other direction. I quickly learned I prefer to run alone 🙂

      November 23, 2012

Leave a Reply

