Skip to content

Six Months Ago Today…

Six months ago today I started on this blogging journey – a blog a day to become the person (and runner) I want to be. In six months, I haven’t missed a single day and although some entries have been brief, they have all had the same purpose… to help other people. It seems fitting that today is the six month mark…

The last six months have allowed me to connect with an amazing group of people, both virtually and in person. I have  been able to be a part of my friend’s many great accomplishments and I am thankful for every single moment. In addition, I have learned SO MUCH about the running and fitness world. Nutrition, workouts, motivation, blogging conferences, the list is on going. In six months I have gained a wealth of knowledge that I’m not sure I would have gained any other way.

As I mentioned, today is the perfect day to mark 6 months. Today is the day I put all my knowledge into practice. It is the day I get a grip on self control, really become accountable to myself and to my coach, put an emphasis on yoga and strength training, make a point to have my branched chain amino acids post workout, and to take my mental toughness to a new level. I watched a video the other day that said “What would the highest version of yourself do at this very moment?” In my ideal world, the highest version of myself is a sub 1:30 half marathoner, a 3:15 marathoner, and a person who uses running as a means to inspire others to do great things and random acts of kindness in the world. The previous six months have been about learning who I want the highest version of myself to be. The next six months will be about getting there.

I’d like to take a moment to highlight some of my favorite memories since May 19, 2012:

  • My amazing Google+ circle of friends – Mark, Jenny, Otto, Josh, Greg (Predawn Runner), Joy, and Chas
  • My very inspiring Run Inspired girls – Jenny, Jenny, Holley, Courtney, Emily, Maria, Sara, Jordan, Anna, Jessica and Kristy
  • Being part of a first 50 miler, a first marathon, a first 10K, a half marathon PR, a 4 mile PR, hill repeats, and many many 12 flights of stairs repeats
  • a D1 Sports workout with Austin
  • Fitbloggin’ with Sara
  • Meeting  Mark in Seattle
  • Google+ hangouts
  • My VO2 Max test
  • The many motivational videos shared by Chas
  • The London Olympics
  • New books to read (Wheat Belly, The Winner’s Brain, The Hansons Brooks Method)
  • Consuming beet juice and coconut oil because I read they were good for athletes
  • Winning a race

And perhaps my most memorable moment since this journey started was the City of Oaks Marathon. Not only did I get to be a part of my friends completing their first half marathon or first 10K, but I was able to experience the marathon like never before. I’m not sure really how to explain it other than it just mentally felt so easy and like it was what I was suppose to be doing. For the first time in my life, 26.2 miles didn’t really seem that long. It wasn’t complicated by gadgets, gels, handhelds, or anything else. I was just running and I couldn’t have been happier. It’s weird how running grows on you over time – you hate it,  you do it to lose weight, you love it, you find joy in it, you come to an understanding with it… Who knows what running will come to mean in 10 years. I look forward to finding out.

Here is to the last six months of this journey, the next three months of intense training, and to tomorrow’s speed workout with Gavin. I’m sure it will all be just as fabulous as the last six months.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

I decided to document this journey with a picture a day… Maybe in 3 months I’ll be a little buffer 🙂

And in other news, here are my running stats from today AND I made the Run Inspired. Facebook page public. Go like us! It’s a work in progress but the goal is to inspire others through community, running, and kindess. Any feedback is much appreciated 🙂

10 Comments Post a comment
  1. uberbeastmode #

    Very awesome! I too am so thrilled I started blogging and share your sentiments. Looks like I started about a month after you. It’s been so much better than I ever imagined. The great people I’ve met and the info I learn and share with others is priceless. Glad to hear things are going so well for you!

    November 19, 2012
    • uberbeastmode #

      Oh and I liked the facebook page! 🙂

      November 19, 2012
    • Thank you! It has definitely been a fun learning experience and I am thrilled about all the awesome people I have met. I wonder what the next six months will bring… 🙂

      And thanks for liking the page! I’m still trying to figure out content.
      Tracie

      November 20, 2012
  2. Congratulations on 6 months! I just hit one year on my blog. I really like your emphasis on mental preparation for races as well. I used this when I played softball and volleyball, and it really helped for more serious games and tournaments. For some reason, it never registered with me that I should do it with runnning, even though running is an individual sport, hence a major reason to mentally prep. I’ve got a few races on the horizon, so not only will I do my training for them, but also mentally prepare and visualise too. Thanks 🙂

    November 20, 2012
    • Thanks Danielle and congratulations on your one year mark as well! I’m all about trying to exercise the gray matter in our heads and I had never really focused on mental preparation until this past year. What a huge help it has been!
      What races are you planning on?

      November 20, 2012
      • Just some small, local races: a 6km Santa Run in December, a 5 mile race in February and a 10km at the Queen’s Highland Castle in April. If all goes well with my back rehab, I’ll enter the Edinburgh Half Marathon for May 🙂

        November 24, 2012
  3. MikeW #

    Congrats! Thanks for a seasonal post true to your blog title.

    November 20, 2012
  4. Amy #

    Congratulations on hitting your 6 month blogging every day journey! I know I’ve definitely learned so much from you…even if it means having a *bit* more of a justification to eat sweet potato fries! I’m excited to see what you come up with over the next 6 months, and of course to see what kinds of craziness your run coach will bring!

    November 20, 2012
  5. Congrats and thanks for your blog posts! They are such an inspiration!

    November 20, 2012
    • Thank you Regan!! It’s been a fun learning experience so far and I look forward to what might come next 🙂

      November 20, 2012

Leave a Reply

