Skip to content

A Pyramid Workout

I’ve mentioned previously that I will be working with a running coach starting tomorrow. Hopefully with his expert knowledge and my decision to work really hard for the next few months, I can achieve my running goals. Here’s to three months of discipline! He sent me my workouts for the next three weeks and I’ve probably looked at them no less than 20 times. Maybe I’m trying to mentally prep myself for all this running or psych myself up for our Tuesday speed workouts. I’m not sure but I’m just going to take it one workout at a time.

My speed workout next Tuesday is a pyramid workout. I’ve done pyramid workouts before but they were based off time and not distance. Pyramids are face paced interval workouts that focus on improving running economy. These intense efforts are performed over increasingly longer distances until a peak is reached and then the distance decreases again to the starting point. (Digital Running)Β According to a few of the articles I read, pyramid workouts are mentally less taxing than other workouts. In my opinion, any interval workout is easier mentally because it breaks up the distance. Whether it be based on minutes or laps around the track, it has to go by quicker than 7 straight miles.

My workout next Tuesday – 400,800, 1200, 1600, 1200, 800, 400 @ 10K pace and of course a warm up and cool down. If anything, it should help me at least burn off that Thanksgiving turkey.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Running Update: No running today but I did go to the gym for some strength training. My arms felt like jello when I got home. πŸ™‚

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. uberbeastmode #

    Good luck with the program! Intervals is about the only way I can tolerate running. πŸ™‚ I go from thinking it’s a drag (running for distance) to actually enjoying it.

    November 18, 2012
    • Thanks! Intervals definitely help to break up the monotony that running can be sometimes. Glad you found a way to enjoy this fabulous sport πŸ˜‰

      November 19, 2012
  2. What are you training for now, Tracie – I must have missed it.

    November 21, 2012
    • Myrtle Beach Half Marathon in February and Tobacco Road Marathon (a local race) in March. I’m working for a 1:30 half and 3:15-3:20 full with my coach. It’s really nice having someone else plan out my runs and be there for speed workouts. It helps to keep me accountable πŸ™‚

      November 21, 2012

Leave a Reply

