Skip to content

Magnesium

I subscribe to Ben Greenfield’s newsletter and today I received an email with the subject line “What Magnesium is Best?”. Ben Greenfield talks quite a bit about the benefits of magnesium but I’ve never taken a second to learn why people use it for exercise recovery. According to some articles I read tonight, it seems that magnesium is one of those minerals that can be depleted quite a bit during exercise. However, it is important for your body to have sufficient magnesium to help rebuild after an intense effort. Here is what an article from the Department of Nutrition, Amherst had to say…

Magnesium and Exercise:

Magnesium is an essential element that regulates membrane stability and neuromuscular, cardiovascular, immune, and hormonal functions and is a critical cofactor in many metabolic reactions. The Dietary Reference Intake for magnesium for adults is 310 to 420 mg/day. However, the intake of magnesium in humans is often suboptimal. Magnesium deficiency may lead to changes in gastrointestinal, cardiovascular, and neuromuscular function. Physical exercise may deplete magnesium, which, together with a marginal dietary magnesium intake, may impair energy metabolism efficiency and the capacity for physical work

You can listen to the Ben Greenfield podcast here. I haven’t had a chance to check it out yet but I think it will be my daily nutrition lesson on the way to work tomorrow. I do know, however, that he is a big fan of the topical ointment for post workout. According to his article here, you can use the ointment immediately after a workout up to several days, until the soreness subsides.

There are always things to help us be better, faster, and recovered quicker. I’m trying not to get on the excessive amounts of supplements bandwagon but  sometimes it’s hard. I think I’ll start with my Endurox and go from there…

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

Today was another cold and rainy day here in Raleigh.
This is where I live 🙂

Today’s Run Stats

11 Comments Post a comment
  1. gorgeous photo! I would love for you to play the PhotoARun challenge some time, we need people with a great eye like yours.

    November 16, 2012
    • Thanks! I saw that you did this challenge and think it seems very cool. I just never carry my phone with me on a run. I’ll try and figure out a way to make it happen and I’ll share the idea with my running club ladies. A lot of them actually do carry their phones and it will keep them inspired and motivated 🙂

      November 17, 2012
      • oh that would be wonderful, thank you. I really want to make a difference and think us runners are the people to do it!

        November 18, 2012
      • I 100% agree with you! I’ll see what I can do to help spread the word. Happy Monday 🙂

        November 19, 2012
      • Happy Monday!

        November 19, 2012
  2. It seems like there is always something that we are deficient in. I can’t keep up. I just try to eat a good diet and have been working on getting 4-5 fruits and veggies a day, which is a challenge for me.
    I switched to whole grain as much as possible during the Atkins craze. I knew America, and cetainly me, could not give up bread and wheat products for ever. Going whole grain was my best compromise. Whole grains do provide more nutrients that processed grains, so hopefully my magnesium requirements are getting covered there.
    Thanks for the post.

    November 17, 2012
    • You make such a good point – we are always deficient in something. Like you said, a healthy diet is the best way to avoid that.

      You mentioned that you focus on whole grains. I’m curious to know if you have ever heard of the book Wheat Belly? If so, what is your take on it?

      November 17, 2012
      • I’ve seen it mentioned but have not read it. Does the book say wheat is bad for us?

        November 17, 2012
      • Basically, yes. The doctor’s theory is that the wheat we eat today is so genetically modified from its original form. The author is a cardiologist and there are a lot of studies he cites. According to him, wheat can be linked to the love handles that never go away, acne, allergies, the afternoons slump, low energy levels and many other things. I’m about half way finished with it and it is definitely changed the way I look at wheat products quite a bit.

        November 17, 2012
      • I’ll have to check it out. Hopefully I don’t have to give up bread completely. It’s been a staple for thousands of years. But it sounds like the author is saying modern wheat is bad for us. Does he offer alternatives?

        November 18, 2012
      • I definitely haven’t given up bread completely. It just changed the way I look at wheat products and I am much more cautious about what consumption. And no, he doesn’t really offer any other alternatives. He says that if you can get the older versions of wheat, like einkorn and amaranth, that would be a better option but still not the best. He’s not even a fan of gluten free products. Think along the lines of a paleo diet – that’s what he prefers. There is a website you can check out: http://www.wheatbellyblog.com/ Let me know what you think.
        Happy Monday!

        November 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

