Skip to content

Endurox

Today on my day off I was able to spend some time chatting with Gavin, my new running coach. I’m taking the rest of this week easy and then it’s back to the grind on Monday. I’ve already signed up for my next two races, Myrtle Beach Half Marathon in February and Tobacco Road Marathon in March. And I’ve made my goals known. I’m going to be training for 1:30 for the half and 3:15-3:20 for the full. (Ambitious, I know.) Gavin seems to think it’s totally doable. I also think it’s doable, but it’s going to take a lot of hard work and discipline. However this is something I want really really bad, so I’m willing to work for it.

One of the benefits of having a coach who is also a 2:22:05 marathoner, is I get to pick his brain. The more time I sit thinking about running, the more questions I come up with. Today over our cup of coffe,  I asked about post workout nutrition. As I’ve said before, I’m pretty bad at this. Sweet potato chips and hummus anyone? When I asked what he did after his hard workouts, his response was Endurox. Up until today at 11:30am, I had never heard of Endurox but it seems to be quite the popular recovery drink.

Endurox is made by Pacific Health Labs, the same company that makes the 2nd Surge I love oh so much. It follows the 4:1 carb to protein ratio. One serving contains 52 grams of carbs, 13 grams of protein, and 270 calories. To me, that seems like a lot but if I think about what I eat between post workout and when I actually eat dinner, this might be a better bet. Endurox also contains 420mg of L-glutamine. L-glutamine is a naturally occurring amino acid in the body and although there is little scientific evidence to prove it, many believe it helps reduce muscle soreness. I’m not 100% certain, but I believe there was a section in The Paleo Diet for Athletes, discussing the importance of consuming foods (beef, chicken, fish, beets, cabbage) with L-glutamine after an intense workout. I’ll have to go back and check on that one…

In looking at reviews on various websites, the most common thing I read was that Endurox greatly helped reduce muscle soreness and fatigue, especially after long, hard runs. A few of the negative reviews said that the formula had been changed, it didn’t taste all that great, and it was expensive. On Amazon, it’s about $50 for a 4.56 container. That price seems pretty much in line with what other powders cost so I don’t think it’s abnormally expensive. You can also buy it on Amazon Prime, which means no taxes and free shipping. As far as taste is concerned, I never expect any of the powders to taste that great. I’ve learned to acquire a taste rather quickly or just make a smoothie. Either way, taste isn’t a big deal for me.

In the name of research and my ambitious time goals, I have a container of Lemon Lime Endurox on the way to my house. (All of these running related expenses = my Christmas. :P)  It should be here just in time to start my training again. Here is to the next few months of being a disciplined runner!

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

(I found this blog post about how awesome Gavin is as a runner. I think I picked a good coach.)

One Comment Post a comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Injury Prevention | Run Inspired.

Leave a Reply

