Skip to content

Post Marathon Swagger

I often read about the “post marathon blues” – that feeling of now what? after the race. Fortunately, I do not experience that because my life for the past 10 years has been about training for something. I know the process will start again soon enough. (I’ve already got my next two races on the calendar.) If I suffer anything post marathon, it’s post marathon gluttony. Too much good food! Luckily, I had a physical this morning and had to go to the doctor in a fasted state. That kept me from overdoing it on yogurt and granola 🙂 . Lunch was a different story completely.

In addition to post marathon gluttony, I also have the post 26.2 mile swagger. I forgot how bad it could be until this morning when I tried to get out of bed. I couldn’t walk like a normal person and trying to do any kind of light stretching was a task. Touch my toes? Ha! Maybe next week. Someone shared this great video on Facebook today and I thought it adequately demonstrated how I was feeling at 6am. Granted, I feel much better now but when I walked into the doctor’s office this morning, I could only imagine what everyone was thinking. This is about what I looked like…

 

I hope this made you laugh, or at least smile. It made my Monday morning. For more information on how to recover from the 26.2 mile swagger, check out this excerpt from “Marathoning Start to Finish.”

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

One Comment Post a comment
  1. that advert could only be from the UK – genius!

    November 8, 2012

Leave a Reply

