Skip to content

Sleep Positions

I don’t remember where I read this but somewhere a while back I read that Ryan Hall slept on his back because it was good for his hips. Ever since then savasana pose has been my preferred sleep position. Sometimes I stay like that all night long and never move. Well it turns out most doctors agree the supine position is best.

There is an interesting article on Greatist.com about the different sleep positions and the pros and cons of each. Sleep on your back? Well that’s considered to be the best position for your spine but it also means you are more likely to snore. If you’re a stomach sleeper, really the only good thing about this position is that it eases sleep apnea. But generally speaking, sleeping on your stomach is regarded as the worst position. It can lead to lower back pain and strain the neck. And if you are like the majority of the population and sleep on your stomach, then that can be good for reducing acid reflux and heartburn. It is also good for pregnant women because it increases circulation to the heart and doesn’t put pressure on the lower back. On the flip side, however, sleeping on Β your side can put pressure on the liver, stomach, and lungs.

Of course we all have our preferred positions for catching our zzzz’s, but I do notice my hips feel especially out of whack when I sleep on my side. Plus I still can’t sleep on my right side from when I broke my collarbone (at my own wedding). It bothers my shoulder too much. As this article on Livestrong points out, the right sleep position can help keep bones and joints aligned correctly while also reducing back pain. We just have to find that right position.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Funny, I read that too and as I’ve been recovering from hip injury I’ve been sleeping this way. As soon as I get lazy and sleep on my stomach or side I notice my hips and low back are much more out of whack and I recovery much more slowly from my runs and rides!! Flat on the back is good for reducing wrinkles too!!! πŸ™‚

    November 1, 2012
    • Love the added benefit of the supine position! πŸ™‚ And glad to know it has been helping with your recovery as well.

      November 2, 2012
  2. Emily #

    That’s how I sleep! I add a pillow under my knees and incline my pillows… Best for my back AND hips.

    How are you feeling??

    Emily M Jesserer 919.280.4787 emjesserer@yahoo.com

    Sent from my iPhone

    November 2, 2012
  3. Good read, I’m currently dealing with some kind of sciatic nerve injury made worse through running which prevents me from sleeping on my right side. Lately, I’ve been sleeping on my left side, with a pillow between my legs, and have noticed that my right hip is so tight, probably as a result of this. I also find my physo stretches are more difficult to do on the right because my hip is tight. I’ll sleep on my back tonight and hopefully will start to notice a difference soon. Thanks πŸ™‚

    Btw, for some reason, although I’ve submitted my email address to follow your blog, I can’t activiate my subscription?????

    November 5, 2012
    • Have you ever tried the pigeon or double pigeon pose? When done correctly, it is GREAT for helping tight hips. I think it’s one of my favorite yoga stretches. Check out this link: http://www.fitsugar.com/How-Do-Pigeon-Pose-121200

      I don’t know what’s up with the subscription 😦 I’m going to look at the settings right now and see if I can figure anything out. And I’m happy to have you as a follower πŸ™‚ Good luck with the hip!
      Tracie

      November 5, 2012
      • Thanks! I haven’t done pigeon in a while because I’ve also got sciatic issues. Is double pigeon when you sit cross-legged and reach forward, trying to lay your stomach on your legs? If so, yes. It works for my left side but does nothing for my tight, right side. I’ve got physio tomorrow, so hopefully some answers which I’ll post to my blog.

        Pretty much after I left my coment, the subscription feed thingy worked. I think WordPress subscriptions was acting up a bit last night.

        November 6, 2012
      • Good luck tomorrow! I hope you can get that hip thing worked out. I know that can’t be much fun. I’ll be following up on your blog to see what you learned. And yes, double pigeon is where you cross your legs and reach forward. For me, it always helps before and after a run.
        Happy almost hump day!

        November 6, 2012

Leave a Reply

