Skip to content

Sleep

This morning I woke up and pretty much felt like death. My body was aching, my head hurt, my chest hurt, and I was so tired. Yesterday I actually slept until 9:00am which is something I never do. And today after getting back home from leaving my sub plans at work, I again slept until 9:00am then woke up, moved to the couch, and slept until 12:45pm! I can’t even recall the last time I have slept so much. I’m a typical 6 to 6 1/2 hours of sleep type of person. I think it is finally catching up with me.

Sleep is obviously important, but in particular, it is super important when you are sick. Being that this is my last week of rest before race day, I’m going to welcome the extra hours of R&R. It’ll help my body get better, (at least I hope so)!

Angela Epstein:

Research suggests that sleeping more when fighting infectious illness aids recovery.

This may be due to the immune system’s increased production of certain proteins during sleep, as the levels of certain agents which fight disease rise during sleep and drop when we are awake.

Getting enough sleep can also help resist infection, as some studies of healthy young adults have shown that moderate amounts of sleep deprivation reduce the levels of white blood cells which form part of the body’s defense system.

I’ve always been really happy that I could get by with 6 hours of sleep. It gives me more time to do other things. However, I guess there are sometimes when our bodies say enough is enough. You need a break.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

(The pic above is probably the last time I slept so much – back in 2008 while sick with the flu in Savannah, GA.)

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Amy #

    Oh no! Feel better! And I hope you haven’t been affected by the hurricane too much!

    October 29, 2012
    • Thanks Amy! I think 12 hours of sleep have been quite helpful. And here in Raleigh, NC the hurricane hasn’t really affected us. Only a little cold and rainy. I hope your recovery is going well. I read that you finally got in a run. Can’t wait to start following your Boston training!!

      October 29, 2012

Leave a Reply

