Skip to content

Being Thankful

I have to admit, my run this morning wasn’t the most encouraging run I’ve ever had. Maybe it had something to do with the 100 foot climb in only .2 miles or the fact that I missed practically 1 1/2 months of training.Whatever the reason was, I found myself practicing a few of my mental tricks. In particular, the art of just being thankful that I am able to run.

Wednesday morning when I walked into the office at work, I caught the end of a story about woman who had just been diagnosed with breast cancer for the second time, only this time it is terminal. The story that was being told was how incredibly positive and kind the lady is. She is just thankful to be alive and looks at everyday as a gift. I only heard about one minute of that conversation but I have carried that one minute with me since Wednesday morning. Just be thankful.

Being thankful can have many positive effects on our daily lives. To apply this to running, research has shown that being thankful can change your mood (quite quickly) from negative to positive. In addition, it helps you to be in the present. For any long distance race of any kind, these two things – positivity and being in the present – are essential. If I let that steep hill at mile 24 turn my thoughts negative, it wins. And if I think about 26 while only at mile 2, the next 24 miles are going to be brutal. To me, running is a gift and no matter what the clock says next Sunday, I’ll be thankful to have run for 26.2 miles.

Run Stats from Today

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

One Comment Post a comment
  1. MikeW #

    That photo is a gem. Good choice and spot-on topic! Love the wisdom of it.

    October 28, 2012

Leave a Reply

