Skip to content

Adding to my Bank of Positive Images

Happy Friday evening! Only one more long run to go before race day and I am so ready for it. I see why the taper is so effective. I feel like I have so much energy inside me right now that I could go out and take on those 26.2 miles tomorrow. I must wait though.

Being that it is Friday and I’m in search of motivating things, I wanted to share this recent news article I read about Sara Baxter, a young runner from California. 

Cameron Smith:

As reported by the Riverside Press-Enterprise,Simi Valley (Calif.) High junior Sarah Baxterwon the Mt. SAC Invitational with a blistering time of 16:00. That time obliterated a previous 11-year-old record on the three-mile course — widely considered one of the toughest in the state and possibly the nation — by some 16 seconds, leaving area writers and prep track analysts completely agape at the time she turned in.

Her goal for this race – 16:35. She beat that by :35 seconds. And just to give you an idea of how much of a lead she had – her closest competitor was over one minute behind. I think we might be seeing her at the 2016 Olympics.

Young athletes always inspire me. They know no limits and therefore have no limits. Sara Baxter has experienced amazing and something tells me that feeling will continue to motivate her to work even harder. Kudos to her for the race of a lifetime.

I’m putting Sara in my bank of positive images for race day, along with the great motivation from Chas and Jenny. This will help carry me through those many miles November 4th.

Happy Trails and Happy Running!

Tracie

And check out what a student made for me…. It totally made my Friday.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Hi Tracie, You may be on to something with all the mental prep you’ve been doing. I personally find the taper week/weeks so difficult. I felt like I was getting more and more tired as the days went on, but also so energized. A definite waiting mind game.
    Here’s a good overview on tapering: http://running.about.com/od/distancerunningtips/a/You-Know-You-Are-Marathon-Tapering-When.htm

    October 26, 2012
    • That totally made my morning and I can relate to about every one of those points. In particular, the one about gaining 10 pounds. Thanks for sharing and now I’m off to do one last long run before next weekend! Happy Saturday 🙂

      October 27, 2012

Leave a Reply

