Skip to content

Warrior Pose


Last Monday when I met with my new running coach, we discussed a range of topics including mileage, a running log, strength training, and yoga. One of the things he told me was that when he was doing his heaviest running, he incorporated 1 1/2 hours of yoga into his training a couple of times a week. And instead of going to an actual studio, he order a video off Amazon and would do that after a run. His wife mentioned that in particular, they focused on warrior poses. Warrior pose – I remember that from yoga class but I do not remember all of the different ones. There is Warrior I, Warrior II, and Warrior III. Here is the difference:

Warrior I:  Opens the chest and lungs, allowing for better breathing. Creates more flexibility in the shoulders, back, and hips. Strengthens the legs. This is a good pose to prepare for back-bending poses.  To do Warrior I: The front knee is bent, back leg straight, arms extended overhead, and the chest is turned in the same direction as the bent knee.

Warrior II: Develops strength and elasticity in the legs and flexibility of the hips. Tones the abdominal organs, stretches the shoulders and back. Increases stamina. To do Warrior II: The front knee is bent, back leg straight, arms extended out to the sides in line with the legs.

Warrior IIIStretches and tones the legs, trains us to strengthen the abdominal muscles, improves our posture. Brings better balance and greater stamina with practice. To do Warrior III: Balance on one straight leg, with the trunk and arms extending horizontally forward and the lifted leg extending back.

Here is my attempt at the three poses. Let me add that I do not practice yoga that often so clearly I am not that good at it. My poses are also not what they should be, but I’m trying 🙂 Just don’t make fun…

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. oh, the running and yoga debate! i personally think yoga is complementary to running. you look like a pro!

    October 22, 2012
    • I totally agree with you Mary – yoga and running are a great combo. I’m just so bad at doing the yoga part 🙂 Do you practice yoga?

      And thanks for saying I look like a pro… I made my husband take the pics about 100 times.

      October 22, 2012
  2. I’m not a big believer in deep yoga for runners, but there is a lot of overlap between strength/mobility exercises that are good for runners and certain yoga poses. Warrior III, for example, is a single-leg deadlift, one of the best exercises around for runners. Same with many of the lunges in various hip-opening yoga routines.

    October 24, 2012
    • I think it’s a good way to do some dynamic stretching. I know how much “straighter” my body feels after some back and hip stretches but I don’t think I’ll be incorporating any handstands into my routine. 🙂

      October 27, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Norseman XTreme Triathlon | Run Inspired.

Leave a Reply

