Skip to content

A Running Coach

Tonight I met with my new running coach (a 2:22 marathoner who is quite knowledgeable on the sport). Now clearly I am no elite athlete and have no hopes or dreams of ever reaching the Olympics so you may be asking yourself why in the world would I spend money to hire somebody to tell me how to run. I mean after all, I’ve been running for quite a few years and have quite a few miles on my legs. Shouldn’t I already know what to do? Well the answer to that is not really. Certainly I can run and am pretty decent at it, but I have goals that I can never seem to reach because my name is Tracie “overtrained” Rodriguez. 🙂 I can never find a happy balance and I always seem to run my body straight to the injured list. I’m actually quite good at it.

Here’s why I think I need  a running coach

  • I like to run, Period. I need someone to tell me exactly how to supplement my training with things other than running.
  • I need specific workouts. I can tell myself all day to run 6 easy miles but somehow they are never at my easy pace. If someone else tells me to do it, I’ll probably listen. Even better, if they join me for those 6 easy miles, I’ll have no choice.
  • I really think I can be better than what I am right now. I’ve done okay training by myself but I’m a horrible self coached runner. I’m just not disciplined enough.
  • And finally, I want to be a lifelong runner. I don’t think injuries should be part of the territory. I need someone to help me find that balance.

I’m pretty excited about this and look forward to sharing what I learn. Maybe once I get this running thing perfected, I can then move on to the Ironman training. One thing at a time…

Here’s to the never ending journey!!

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

We all need a little coaching 🙂
Photo Source: Ahodges7, Wikimedia Commons

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. Good for you – I’m a big believer in the value of coaching, obviously. While I also offer coaching now, someday I’d like to have a coach of my own too – we could all use a second set of eyes on our training to point out new ideas.

    October 15, 2012
    • ttrodriguez #

      Agreed! I’m not that good at this running thing on my own 🙂 I’m really looking forward to learning some new things and to being a better runner.

      October 15, 2012
  2. oh, let me know how it goes! i was so close to hiring a coach over the summer, and might opt for it when training for my next race. i’ve only heard good things about having a coach. so excited for you!

    October 16, 2012
    • Thanks Mary! I think sometimes taking the pressure of planning and executing workouts off of you and letting someone else figure that out is worth it. I’m really going to start working with him after my race (assuming I make it to the starting line healthy). I look forward to sharing what I learn. 🙂

      October 16, 2012
  3. Cool! I think we could all benefit from a coach and I’m sure you’ll learn so much! Looking forward to seeing how it goes.

    October 16, 2012
    • Thanks! I’m really hoping to become a better runner and I look forward to what I will learn. I’m going to start really working with him after my race on November 4th 🙂

      October 16, 2012

Leave a Reply

