Skip to content

The Winner’s Brain

After reading this awesome article from Amby Barefoot and George Hirsch, I came across a book that is now on my reading list. It’s called The Winner’s Brain: 8 Strategies Great Minds Use to Achieve Success.”  I haven’t bought the book yet because I’m still reading Wheat Belly, but I did download the sample. The main thing I got out of the sample was that the gray matter in our head can be exercised, controlled, and trained to help you do great things. It reemphasized to me the importance of the mind.

I’ve recently missed a few days of training due to my yearly injury that happens about this time every October. I’ve been sad, unhappy, and bitter because my running isn’t happening like I want it to. I literally just love running, overdo it, and then get sidelined. It makes me so sad when I can’t be outdoors running. Either way, I’ve been thinking a lot about how this going to affect my goals for November 4th. I’ve finally come to the conclusion that I’m going to be just fine. Running long distances is something I’ve been doing for a long time. My best marathon time happened with zero training – only maintaining my normal exercise habits, signing up 3 weeks before the race, and getting in one long run of 15 miles. My mind was in the right place that morning and I made it happen. Therefore, I know that no matter what happens between now and November 4th, I will exercise my mind and be mentally prepared for those 26.2 miles. I’m hoping this book will give me a few more tips to get me across the finish line a little faster.

And on a side note, the very wise Predawn Runner told me that, “For nearly any injury, strengthening does more than stretching (and, in many cases, more than rest) to not only promote recovery, but prevent recurrence.”  I have taken his advice very seriously and have been focusing quite a bit on strength training these past few days. I ran a little bit tonight and experienced a very bright glimmer of hope 🙂

My only downfall is that I just want to run all the time and strength training isn’t as fun for me. Mario says maybe we should just be recreational runners. I don’t think I can accept that.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

 

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Thanks for the mention Tracie, I should add that massage often does even more than strengthening to work through acute muscular issues. Good luck on the injur recovery, and take the mindset that the rest will serve you well come race day.

    October 4, 2012
    • Maybe I can get Mario to be a part of my injury prevention team and enlist him as my massage therapist 🙂 I know race day will go just fine and I’m looking forward to a few weeks of something different. Maybe I’ll finally get my tri bike!!

      October 4, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Six Months Ago Today… | Run Inspired.

Leave a Reply

