Skip to content

96 Years Old and Still Running

A few weeks ago after a visit with my grandparents, I wrote that tragic accidents aside, I was going to live to be 100 (and a healthy 100 year old at that). I don’t know if I’ll still be running at that age, but I’d like to think so. Heck, if the running gods permit, I’ll be like this lady – 96 and running.

Competitor:

The Indian woman, who was born before World War 1 ended, is taking part in Aritel Delhi Half Marathon on September 30. According to an article posted on The Asian Age Web site, Kaur decided to give running a shot thanks in part to her 75-year-old son, Gurdev Singh, who lives in Canada, and is also a runner. (She started running when she was 90).

When I first read the article (and the many others reporting about Mann Kaur), it seemed to me that she was running the entire half marathon. I spent quite a while trying to find her finishing time, but instead saw this video which made it a little clearer. She ran 4 kilometers of the half marathon – which is still an amazing accomplishment. And in addition to participating in the half marathon, she also holds the gold medal in the 100 and 200 meter events from the World Masters Championships. Mann Kaur reminds me of a point Chris McDougall made in his video – women become better runners as they get older and the distance increases. Kudos to Mann Kaur!!

Photo Source: Competitor

 

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

And I would like to leave you with a random quote for the day: “I expect to pass through this world but once, any good, therefore, that I can do, or any kindness that I can show to any fellow creature, let me do it now, let me not defer it, nor neglect it, for I shall not pass this way again.”   Be nice to a stranger tomorrow 🙂 

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. My goal is 100 also. My grandmother made it to 99 and my folks are in their early 80s. I tell anyone who will listen that I want to be running when I’m 80. Maybe we’ll run a marathon together when we are old geezers! Hopefully they’ll make athletic Depends by then. LOL

    October 3, 2012
    • That totally made me laugh out loud 🙂 if they don’t, it could definitely be a good business venture… Something to think about!! Here is to 80 years old and running!

      October 3, 2012
  2. MikeW #

    Outstanding!

    October 4, 2012
  3. I saw this on the news. I know many elderly people saying that they are too old to work out. If anything being older is just another reason to focus on your health and fitness. This woman is a great role model.

    October 5, 2012

Leave a Reply

