Skip to content

Maple Syrup

This morning at FitBloggin’, Canadian Maple Syrup sponsored a talk titled Nutrition for Maximum Performance. I thought it was interesting the talk was being sponsored by maple syrup but it turned out to be quite informative – other than their hydration recommendations but that’s for a different day (see pic below).

I alway associate maple syrup with pancakes and waffles instead of sports nutrition. However, it seems that one of nature’s natural sweeteners might be good for more than just breakfast. First of all, maple syrup is full of antioxidants and anti-inflammatory compounds, which can be great for post workout. Second, it can help with digestion issues. And as many athletes can tell you, anything to help the tummy is a plus. Because maple syrup has a high amount of manganese, it can help aid muscle recovery. Other nutrients in maple syrup include zinc, calcium, potassium, and iron. You can read more about the benefits of maple syrup here and here.

I just learned about this today so I haven’t tried any maple syrup pre or post workout. Canadian Maple Syrup did share a recipe for a post workout smoothie. It looks pretty yummy so hopefully I will get to try it this week.  Here is the recipe. If you try it, let me know what you think!

Canadian Maple Syrup Hydration Recommendations
8-10 ounces every 10-15 minutes seems a little excessive. I might be swimming home instead of running home. Thoughts?

Have a great evening and happy running tomorrow!

Tracie

And on a side note, if you are going to try maple syrup, make sure you use the pure maple syrup and not some processed version of it 🙂

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. uberbeastmode #

    Maple syrup is great for post workout specifically after strength training when your muscles need those fast carbs for recovery!

    September 22, 2012
    • How do you consume it? In a drink or just a spoonful of syrup? I’m curious…

      September 22, 2012
      • uberbeastmode #

        You could just take it straight if you want or mix it with a shake, not sure how good that would taste though. I’d just do it straight, pure maple syrup, raw honey and molasses are all good. Anything high on the GI index is good post workout but I try to stick to things that have other health benefits instead of something like straight sugar.

        September 22, 2012
      • Ok, I’ll take your advice and try taking it straight for starters. And I prefer the taste of maple syrup over molasses any day so I’ll stick to that one. Thanks for the advice and I’ll see how it goes in the morning.
        -Tracie

        September 22, 2012
      • uberbeastmode #

        You bet! Hope you like it. 🙂

        Colin

        September 22, 2012
  2. Maybe I’m giving away a million dollar idea here. I wonder if maple sap that is minimally processed would be a good sports drink? Instead of processing it down to syrup, they could process to a certain sugar content.
    Less processing means less of a carbon foot print, and runners could drink it instead of gator aid. Someone in Canada must have looked into this.

    September 23, 2012
    • I have no idea but this is quite an interesting idea. I looked on Amazon to see if I could buy maple sap but only found a bunch of books on how to tap trees. I might just have to find a maple tree 🙂 Thanks for sharing this and if Canadian Maple Syrup tries this, they better give you the one million!!!!

      September 23, 2012

Leave a Reply

