Skip to content

Maltodextrin and Honey Stingers

I’m a little confused. Yesterday I wrote about 2nd Surge and why I loved it – 100mg of caffeine, brown rice syrup, agave nectar, whey protein isolate, and lots of fruit puree. I mentioned that Honey Stingers are another brand of energy gel I like because they are along the lines of a more natural gel – honey and B vitamins (and no maltodextrin). However, after talking with my G+ friend Mark yesterday, it was brought to my attention that on the actual gel packet, Honey Stingers does not list maltodextrin as an ingredient. But if you look on the box AND their website, it clearly lists maltodextrin as an ingredient. I’m confused because I don’t understand why the labels are different. Any thoughts?

Ingredient list on the website

It is my personal preference to stay away from maltodextrin. I think my body does better with other types of sugar, like brown rice syrup. I must say, in addition to being confused, I’m also a little disappointed. I feel that the ingredient list on the gels is misleading. Maybe I’ll send the extras I have with Mario this weekend for his Ragnar Relay in San Francisco. And now I wonder if there are any other ingredients in the 2nd Surge….?

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. I’ve started trying Honey Stinger, also, and I’ll be interested in what you discover. I recently wrote a review on Honey Stinger, actually, and that might explain why my stomach didn’t like the gels as much as some of their other products. If I hear anything, I’ll let you know…

    September 13, 2012
    • Thanks Chas! One of the things I liked most about Honey Stingers was the fact that they are a natural form of sugar. The HS Waffles seem to not have any maltodextrin, I just wonder why the gels do…

      September 16, 2012
  2. One would expect the box ingredients to to be the same as the wrapper ingredients. Hmm, interesting find. Is there a 1-800 number you can call and ask?

    September 13, 2012
    • I tweeted them last night and haven’t heard back yet. Tomorrow I will definitely be giving them and call and will follow up with a post on what they said. We shall see….

      September 13, 2012
    • We’ve sent them an email so still waiting to hear back. I also tweeted them but they never responded. Maybe tomorrow we will hear something 🙂

      September 16, 2012
  3. Hi Tracie,

    I work for a food broker and have some information that might help. My understanding is that the box and wrappers must match when it comes the box is sealed and not just a shipping carton. Now it is possible that the formulation changed at some point and they used the wrong box and have not yet updated their website. I’d definitely contact the company and let them know of the issue. Some companies even change the formulation depending on the store in which that specific version will be sold in. You will find identical products at two different stores with maybe one or two different ingredients (i.e. one has HFCS, the other cane sugar, no HFCS – same brand, same product, same look, same flavors, etc). Those changes in most cases are required by the retail outlet’s Buying Department. BTW, you might like a book I’m reading called the Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan; older book from 2005 or 2006 I believe. The author writes about food/farming history and policies that have led us to where we are today.

    Ciao!

    –Ryan

    September 13, 2012
    • Hi Ryan!
      Thanks for sharing this information. We were thinking that perhaps they did change their ingredients and had not yet updated their website, but we are still waiting to hear back with a response. That is pretty interesting that product labels can be different depending on the store. I have heard a lot of great things about the Omnivore’s Dilemma and plan to read it after I finish Wheat Belly. I love learning about these things.

      Thanks again for your input and I’ll let you know what Honey Stingers has to say 🙂
      Tracie

      September 16, 2012

Leave a Reply

