Skip to content

2nd Surge

I’ve tried tried a myriad of energy gels in my years of running. Right now I have two boxes of 2nd Surge and 1 box of Honey Stingers energy gels sitting on my kitchen counter. I like the Honey Stingers and the fact that they are more natural, easily digestible, and have B vitamins, which are super important during strenuous exercise. However, the taste is not my favorite. I’m a chocolate gel person and after years of using GU chocolate (because for some reason I didn’t realize I had another option), I found 2nd Surge. I was reminded this past Saturday why I love 2nd Surge…

First, 2nd Surge has 100mg of caffeine. In comparison, GU has 20mg and Clif Shots have 50mg. Talk about a pick-me-up. Second, it uses brown rice syrup and agave syrup instead of maltodextrin or fructose. Brown rice syrup and agave syrup have a glycemic index score of 25 and 15 respectively. On the other hand, maltodextrin has a score of 105. In other words, brown rice syrup and agave are better at regulating blood sugar and preventing you from crashing later on in a race. Another plus of 2nd Surge is that it contains whey and pea protein isolate. Whey protein provides your body with amino acids, which help your muscles to start rebuilding faster. Other than Accel Gel (which is made by the same manufacturers as 2nd Surge), and PowerBar Gel Blasts, most other energy gels do not contain protein. 2nd Surge has three grams.

Other ingredients in 2nd Surge are evaporated can sugar (glycemic index score of 55), green tea extract, grape, pomegrante, mangosteen (?), goji berry, blueberry, chockeberry, cranberry, apple, and bilberry extracts. The chocolate has 90 calories, 115 mg of sodium, 15mg of potassium, and 18g of carbs. When I was looking for info tonight on 2nd Surge, I saw that my blogger friend All Seasons Cyclist is also is a big fan. It really does taste delicious and is no where near as gooey as GU. If you’re a caffeine person and are looking to try something new, try these. Heck, I’ll even send you a couple so you can form you own opinion. Provided you live in the USA 🙂

 

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Andrea #

    Tracie, have you ever tried the double expresso flavor in the 2nd surge?

    September 17, 2012
    • I’ve never tried it because everywhere I just tend to stick to chocolate. However, i read some review of the expresso flavor and people said they liked it. To me, the chocolate is much better than other chocolates I’ve had so I’m thinking the expresso would also be delicious. I had a chocolate one before my tempo run last Thursday and 5 minutes later I was ready to take on the world. I just love all that caffeine 🙂

      September 17, 2012
  2. Andrea #

    I think I’m going to give it a try! I’ve been using that N.O Xplode, it gives me great energy,but I don’t think it responds well with my metabolism 🙂

    September 17, 2012
    • yay! If you like chocolate, I’ll bring you some tomorrow morning and put it in your box. It’s delicious!

      September 17, 2012
  3. Andrea #

    I do!!! I would to try it! I just ordered some chocolate… I should get it next week 🙂
    I am bringing that Pre workout stuff i have been using to show you too.

    September 17, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Maltodextrin and Honey Stingers « Run Inspired.
  2. Endurox | Run Inspired.

Leave a Reply

