Skip to content

Wheat Belly

I am not typically a bread and pasta person. My carbo loading is mainly limited to sweet potatoes and I’ve always been fine with that. However, for some reason this past weekend I went a little overboard on the carbs. I can always tell when I’m running more than normal because my body starts craving different (and more) foods. Between Friday and Saturday, I had more bread than I have in the past month and my body has been in gluten overload today. The chicken sandwich on cuban bread I had yesterday was delicious but I know that’s not the best thing for me to be eating.

A while back I listened to an interview with Dr. William Davis. He is the author of Wheat Belly, a New York Times bestseller outlining how today’s wheat is adversely affecting our health. I haven’t read the book yet, but it is the next book on my list, right after I finish Seven Habits of Highly Effective People. Dr. Davis is a cardiologist who is also the founder and director of Track Your Plaque, a program designed to track and reverse heart disease. The website, WheatBellyblog.com has a vast amount of information, including recipes, success stories, featured articles, videos, and information about Dr. Davis’ speaking engagements. The book is highly rated on Amazon.com and the reviews were quite helpful. However, I did read a review from No Gluten, No Problem and although the authors follow a gluten free diet, they were not fans of the book. The reason? Well here is how Pete summed up his review:

But I’m more than disappointed with Davis and Wheat Belly; I’m downright angry. This book can and should be better. We, the gluten-free community, deserve as much. It does an injustice to the very legitimate case against wheat and gluten, and it is insulting to us, the readers. Sadly, Wheat Belly looks polished from a distance, but upon closer inspection it goes belly up. Sections of the book amount to propaganda, fallacies, and unsubstantiated claims. For me, Wheat Belly is a bust.

As with all things in life, there are different opinions about the book. I don’t know how good or bad it is because I haven’t read it yet. However, I’m still planning to download it to the Kindle. I want to read for myself what Dr. Davis has to say. For me personally, I can feel when I’ve had too much gluten and I’m still feeling the effects today from my weekend carbo overload. And interestingly enough, today I ordered a turkey burger for lunch and even though I wasn’t planning to eat the bread, they brought it to be sans bun anyway. I didn’t even have to ask but maybe the waitress could tell I was slowly turning into a loaf of bread. 🙂

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. This book looks like a great read; when I got away from refined gluten and wheat, my skin allergies are almost nonexistent:)

    jonwatersauthor.com

    September 9, 2012
  2. jenny #

    I’m just getting caught up with my google reader and finally read this. Sorry I loaded you with carbs! But it was a yummy sandwich 🙂

    September 18, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Are We getting Fat so the Government can Grow More Wheat? « The Epigenetics Project Blog
  2. Reluctant (Semi-) Vegetarian | abundantnurturing
  3. Wheat Belly Diet? Flat Belly Diet? Blubber Management 101 | nobluehair
  4. Six Months Ago Today… | Run Inspired.

Leave a Reply

