Skip to content

On a Personal Note…

I try to keep my blog posts informative with a little bit of personal info to go along with what I write. However, these past few days are causing to me  to practically burst at the seams and I need to get my thoughts out. I’ll do my best to be brief, but bare with me…

Some of you may know that I’m a teacher with a love of running. During my spare time, I train for marathons, blog, and lead an all girl run club. If you know me personally you know that I have more energy than your normal person, six hours of sleep is sufficient for me, and I’m very rarely in a bad mood. People energize me and even more so, people who share my love of healthy living and endurance sports.

Having said that, let me rewind to yesterday.  Yesterday I was at the gym for an easy workout. There was a trainer beside be working with her client and I decided to turn my music off and eavesdrop. I’m always curious to know what advice the trainers are giving. After about 30 seconds, I actually got irritated. The trainer was sharing her story, what worked for her, and how she lost 20 pounds. Maybe the teacher came out in me or maybe I was reminded of the book I am reading, but all I could think was this is NOT about you. Why are you talking about yourself? Why are you signing her up for the 10 meal a week plan delivered straight to her door?  I’ve worked with several trainers before and only one has been worth the money. Everyone else wanted me to be just like them. Only Chris understood me as a runner and an endurance athlete. He gave me the tools to reach my goals and that is what I think a trainer should do. Give someone the tools to make small lifestyle changes, have high expectations, and don’t spend 10 minutes chatting about what you did over the weekend. Make it worth the person’s money and make them sweat – even if it means making them uncomfortable. That’s what they signed up for anyway – someone who is an educator, motivator, nutritionist, and a leader who can help them achieve a goal they can not achieve alone. I think I’d be a pretty good trainer (and educator, motivator, nutritionist, leader, etc.) …

Now on to today… I went to do the first part of the QA with Duke this afternoon. Basically they moved the machine and they need someone to come in so they could calibrate it. Enter me, the volunteer.  After the second part of the QA tomorrow, I’ll get to do my max test, which I’m actually a little nervous about. After my cousin told me I’d be spending 10 minutes in the pain cave, my excitement somewhat dwindled. But regardless, that is tomorrow so no need thinking about it today.

This afternoon Barbara hooked me up to 12 electrodes and a breathing machine. While turning me into an experiment, she told me how she went from being a teacher to an exercise physiologist, to a nanny, to a waitress, and back to working as an exercise physiologist. Something about her story and personality really inspired me. Not only had she been a teacher, but she started a track team at her school, completed a half Ironman, and ran a marathon. Barbara was kind, energetic, a triathlete, a marathon runner, and a former teacher who now works in fitness. I liked Barbara.

I love what I do, the people I work with, and the students i teach.  And at the same time, there is almost this burning desire to just do fitness, exercise, health, wellness, and life with other people. I feel like I have so many good ideas and a willingness to help others learn the benefits of a healthy lifestyle. Heck, in addition to Spanish, my students also know about spinach smoothies, chia seeds, and meditation. I like to think of it as a well rounded education 🙂

More than anything, I believe in the power of health and in the ability to achieve great things. I believe that when given the right tools and with the right motivation, people can achieve anything they set out to do. I just want to help people get there.

And I don’t exactly know why, but this video inspired me tonight. Who knew Arnold could be so motivating? Thanks Ross Training for the video!

 

 

Here is to a fabulous Friday!

Tracie

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Taylor Krohn #

    What a super-positive post! I think you would be a great personal trainer. I started checking out your blog when it started showing up frequently in my facebook feed, and then I started running myself two months ago (something I thought would never, never happen). Now I’m addicted even though I’m still quite slow 🙂 Your blog is really informative for me, so thanks for writing it!

    –Taylor (from NCSU)

    August 31, 2012
    • Taylor,
      Thank YOU so much for the kind words!! That really means a lot to me and I’m so excited to hear that you’ve picked up running! It really is a fabulous sport, no matter what the speed 🙂 I hope you are doing well and if you ever want me to research something, just let me know!!
      I hope you are doing well and have a great weekend!
      TTR

      August 31, 2012

Leave a Reply

