Skip to content

VO2 Max Testing

This past June at a friend’s wedding, I was chatting with a girl who works with Duke University.  She mentioned her lab needed volunteers for a stress test and for a VO2 max test.  I couldn’t give her my phone number fast enough.  This was like a Christmas present, but 6 months earlier and it was free! I’ve always wanted to be hooked up to a machine while running really fast at an incline just so I can learn my VO2 max, max heart rate, and all of the other things those machines can tell you. A few years ago I actually researched where I could get this done in the Raleigh area.  Thankfully I waited because now I’m getting it done free of charge 🙂

This will be a two day process. Tomorrow I’m going to get a stress test. I was told this would be fairly easy and short. Friday is when I get to do the fun stuff. I first have to go through the second part of the stress test and then afterwards, they are going to do my “max test” as Brian told me over the phone this afternoon.  I wasn’t really sure what all this included so I called back to the lab on my way home to clarify.  Basically I was told that once I went through the 8-12 minute test, they could tell me anything I wanted to know.  Max heart rate, VO2 max, aerobic threshold, lactate threshold, heart rate training zones – anything. This is the best back to school present I could have ever asked for!!!  It’s kind of bizarre how excited I am about this.  Maybe because I think this will tell me how “fit” I really am and what I am really capable of accomplishing.  I’ll know and understand exactly what my body can do. Be on the lookout for a recap of how it went after Friday.

I get distracted by my earphones on my iPod. I hope I can deal with this 🙂

Photo Source

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

 

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. This sounds like an awesome present! Can’t wait to see how it goes!

    August 29, 2012
  2. Wow, that sounds great. I’d love to have all of that information about my fitness level. I just wrote a blog post about the different methods to determine body fat percentages. All of the good methods need to be done by a professional and probably are not free. I plan on finding out how much each one costs and will post that information also.

    August 31, 2012
    • I will definitely have to check out your post on body fat percentages. That is something I am also interested in knowing. The VO2 wasn’t as bad as I thought and I didn’t get quite to max. The cords, headgear, mouthpiece, and nose clip were so annoying and I think I let it get to me. I’m going to do my writeup about it tomorrow… 🙂

      August 31, 2012
  3. davisnc #

    Enjoyed reading some of your posts. I am looking to get my V02 max and lactate threshold tested in the Raleigh area. Any recommendations on where to go? I see one place (Athletic Performance Center at Raleigh Orthopaedic Clinic) but don’t know anything about them or any other places. Thanks!

    January 2, 2013
  4. davisnc #

    Enjoyed reading some of your posts. I am looking to get my V02 max and lactate threshold tested in the Raleigh area. Any recommendations on where to go? I see one place (Athletic Performance Center at Raleigh Orthopaedic Clinic) but don’t know anything about them or any other places. Thanks!

    January 2, 2013

Leave a Reply

