Skip to content

Our Schools and Nutrition

I am a teacher, but I consider my role in the classroom to go way beyond just teaching Spanish.  Along with the many hats I wear throughout the school day, one of my favorites is that of the coach/nutritionist/physical fitness motivator. I wholeheartedly believe that what students eat throughout the day and their amount of physical activity, affects how they do in the classroom. Therefore, when I see a student start their day with Pop-Tarts and a Monster energy drink, I can’t hold back.  I certainly don’t lecture on their food choices but I do try and provide a little nutritional wisdom. In my personal opinion, if the cafeteria served spinach, kale, chia seeds, Vega Energizing Smoothie, banana, and mango smoothies, everyone would be a little happier, awake, and ready to take on the day at 7:10 am (yes, that is what time class starts).

I read a brief article this morning and it reminded me of the same question I ask myself every time I see a student eating a honey bun for breakfast… Why don’t we make exercise and nutrition more a part of our school day?  Whenever I talk about spinach smoothies and kombucha, yes the students make a face, but then they always ask 100 questions.  They are curious and want me to make them a green smoothie.  And sometimes students will start bringing to me their lunches and asking if they are nutritious or not. I think, if given the opportunity, they really do want to learn and eat healthier foods. If I could, I would start up an exercise and nutrition program for the entire school system.  How much fun would that be!?!?

Here is an excerpt from the article:

ONONDAGA COUNTY, N.Y. — Time Warner Cable, Fleet Feet and Girls Incorporated team up to help local girls become healthier. A dozen girls from the “Healthy Mind, Healthy Body” summer program by Girls Inc. spent time at Fleet Feet Wednesday to learn about the science behind running and which foods fuel bodies the best. They are also learning from exercise and nutrition science experts.

Kudos to Time Warner Cable, Fleet Feet and Girls Inc. for helping our young people lead healthier lives.  Another great organization for getting young girls on a positive and healthy path is Girls on the Run.  I worked with them last year and loved every minute of it.  We just need something like that in high school… maybe a side project for the year 🙂

Spinach smoothies = best way to start the day!

 

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Shu #

    I think it’s great that you’re making the students aware of nutrition! That’s the first step to combating the obesity epidemic facing this country today – educate the kids!

    August 16, 2012
    • Thanks Shu! I totally agree with you – educate from a young age about the importance of nutrition and a healthy lifestyle. Children really do want to learn 🙂

      August 16, 2012

Leave a Reply

