Skip to content

Running in Seattle

As I mentioned yesterday, I’m on vacation.  I’m hanging out here in Seattle while Mario works and then we are driving to Walla Walla on Saturday.  Hooray!!! Although our hotel has an awesome fitness center, I prefer to run outdoors and see the city.  Plus, I’ve got to get in a 13 miler while we are here, and I really prefer not to do it on the treadmill.  So I decided to do a little research on some local places to run.  One of the favorite spots seems to be Myrtle Edwards Park.  Luckily it’s not too far from the hotel.  Maybe I can run to the park and then run the 1.25 mile path along Elliot Bay.

Some of the other parks and recommended jogging trails by the Seattle Parks and Rec were Alki Beach, Carkeek Park, Discovery Park, Green Lake, Lincoln Park, Woodland Park, Cowen Park, Seward Park, and Volunteer Park.  Unfortunately when I mapped out all of these other places to run, it involved a major highway.  Of course there are other ways to get there, but my inner compass isn’t so great.  I think I’ll stick to Myrtle Edwards Park.  And I’ll probably have to run it a few times to get in those 13 miles.  Oh well, at least the weather is nice!!

Oh NC, I am not missing your hot, humid days!

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Amy #

    Wow do those temperatures look perfect! Good luck with your run, and have lots of fun in Washington!

    July 26, 2012
  2. I was just in Seattle and loved running there compared to here in Northern Virginia where it’s sooooo hot and humid! Our hotel was on 5th and Blanchard so we would run a few blocks down to the water by Pike Place Market and then up and down that path along Eliot Bay. It was also fun to run around the city and explore but it involved a lot of stopping and starting. I love running in new places! Have fun!

    July 26, 2012
    • Thanks Katie! We will head that way tomorrow. It is so beautiful here and the weather is perfect! Why must the east coast be so hot?

      July 26, 2012

Leave a Reply

