Skip to content

Olympic Marathoners and a Google+ Hangout

I love Google+.  I have met some amazing people through G+ and have learned a lot from other runners and fitness advocates.  Although I haven’t actually met any of these people in real life, I still feel pretty connected to them.  We share running stories, encourage one another, and every now and then have a hangout where we can actually chat.  Hangouts are perhaps my favorite feature of Google+.  It’s basically where a lot of people can get together and chat via a webcam – like a video conference.

Well did you know that the New York Times has been hosting Google+ hangouts with some of the Olympic marathoners?  Yea, I didn’t know it either.  But perhaps if I had opened my Google Reader a little earlier, I would have known to submit my info so I could actually chat with Ryan Hall and Shalane Flanagan on Google+.  How cool would that have been?  But no worries – I still have my chance.  They are interviewing Kara Goucher tonight at 6 p.m. ET.   If you’re around at that time and are a Kara Goucher fan like I am, tune in here to watch what Kara has to say about the Olympics. And if you want to see was Ryan and Shalane had to say, you can watch a replay of the video. Here is Shalane and here is Ryan.  

Thank you New York Times and Google for putting this together.  Now I even feel connected with a few Olympians.  I love technology.

 

Photo Courtesy of Stewart Dawson, Wikimedia Commons

 

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Thanks for the heads up on this. Pretty cool!

    July 17, 2012
    • Absolutely!! I thought so too and can’t wait to tune in tonight for Kara’s interview.

      July 17, 2012

Leave a Reply

