Skip to content

Olympic Hurdles

This may be mean, I’m not sure, but I really laughed A LOT when I watched this video.  I get that every country has their own way of doing things, but this can’t possibly be allowed.  Just watch and let me know what you think…


The Olympic Trials have officially ended and the track and field competitors have been determined.  This video prompted me to look into who would be running the hurdle events for Team USA in just a few weeks. Other than Lolo Jones and Johnny Dutch (who went to the same high school where I teach), my knowledge of hurdlers is pretty limited.  So let’s find out who these crazy sprinters and jumpers are…

First, a little background… In the Olympics, there are two hurdle events.  The women run the 100 meter hurdles and the 400 meter hurdles, while the men run the 110 meter hurdles and 400 meter hurdles.  Each event consists of 10 hurdles placed along the track.  For the 110 and 100 meter races, hurdles are 106.7 centimeters tall for men and 83.8 centimeters tall for women.  For the 400 meter races, hurdles are 91.4 centimeters tall for men and 76.2 centimeters tall for women.  The men’s 110 meter hurdles have been included in the Olympics since 1896 but the women’s event didn’t become official until 1969.  I guess better late than never, right?

This year, the women’s 2012 100 meter Olympic team includes Dawn Harper, Kellie Wells, and Lolo Jones.  The current world record is 12.21 seconds set back in 1988 by Yordanka Donkova, and I’m crossing my fingers one of the ladies can break that this year.  The women’s 400 meter Olympic team will include Lashinda Demus, Georganne Moline, and T’Erea Brown.  Demus won 1st during the finals this year with a time of 53.98.  Hopefully she saved her best performance for London because she is going to have run a little faster if she wants to break the world record of 52.34 set back in 2004. Man, these ladies are fast!

The men’s 100 meter event will be run by Aries Merritt (I love that name), Jason Richardson, and Jeffrey Porter.  The world record in 12.87 seconds and Merritt came close to breaking that with his time of 12.93 seconds.  But, I guess in the world of sprinting, .06 seconds is like 6 minutes in the marathon.  The 400 meter hurdles will be run by Michael Tinsley, Angelo Taylor, and Kerron Clement.  The former Clayton Comet, Johnny Dutch, made it to the finals but didn’t make it on the team. But way to represent Clayton High School Johnny!  Kevin Young holds the world record of 46.78 seconds.  Tinsley won the trials with a time of 48.33 seconds, but I’m certain the best has yet to be seen from these athletes.

I truly admire hurdlers.  Not only are the super fast but they can also jump pretty high too.  Perhaps one of my favorite quotes about the event, which can also be applied to life in general, is from Lolo Jones:  “I worked 12 years for something that took me 12 seconds.” Now that is persistence, patience, and dedication.

Countdown to London: 21 days, 23 hours, and 30 minutes.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,
Tracie

Lolo Jones, 2008

Photo Source: Wikimedia Commons

One Comment Post a comment
  1. I think I know which hurdle race you were trying to share . I laughed at it too ! 🙂 I am a hurdler myself !

    January 8, 2013

Leave a Reply

