Skip to content

One Month Down – Only 11 More to Go!

One month ago today, I pledged to myself and to others that I would spend the next 365 days learning and blogging about running.  So far I haven’t missed a day and I’ve learned so much!  Today I decided to do something a little different for my blog entry to mark this special occasion. I made video to introduce myself as well as recap everything I have learned so far.  After a few failed attempts, I finally got it recorded and here you go…

(I now realize I say “um” a little more than I should.  Point taken for my next video.)

I also wanted to add that I know sometimes my blogs may be longer and better written than others.  My grammar is sometimes off, and I know my  mom must be secretly correcting my mistakes.  It’s just that some nights are long, I’m tired, and I’m doing my best to post before I fall asleep.  So please forgive me!  Also, I am no medical expert, doctor, or anything of the sort.  I just like to read and research what others have to say about running.  Please keep that in mind whenever you read anything I write.

Thank you to all of those who have helped me along in this journey.  I look forward to the next 11 months and the many more things I still have left to learn.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

And here is my run from this morning.  I love those runs when everything is just right and you feel like you can go on forever!!

Mario and Me

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. Ted #

    You forgot one of the easiest things to help improve your running…. sleep! It’s important to get enough sleep so your body can recover and rebuild. Most people actually don’t get enough due to their busy lifestyles. Running, eating, and sleeping are the trifecta of success.

    June 18, 2012
    • You are so right Ted! Hence the name of my blog. I definitely need to do a blog on sleep. I know from my own experiences, whenever I’m in heavy training and not sleeping like I should, I get sick for 2 weeks. It sucks!
      Thanks for the input!
      Tracie

      June 18, 2012
  2. L-O-V-E the vlog! Great information. Great delivery. Thanks for your your commitment!

    June 18, 2012
    • Thanks Mary Marcia! I hope the next video I do is a little better content and delivery wise. I have to stop saying “um…”! Looking forward to seeing you in July!
      Tracie

      June 18, 2012
  3. JD #

    Nice post. I don’t necessarily agree with some points in the video so have to go find what you have posted vs the scientific evidence.

    Regarding Boston you did not fail. As you said you went out too fast and likely did not train properly. A marathon is both a physical AND psychological test.

    June 18, 2012
    • Thanks JD! What points did you not agree with? Some things are from my experiences and others are things that I research as much as possible, given the 24 hour time period. I welcome your input though! =)

      Boston was a tough race for sure. However, I was probably in the best shape I’d ever been in going into a race. Looking back on it I think there were a lot of race day mistakes versus training mistakes. I didn’t really have a race strategy for the heat and I hadn’t planned out how to eat for a 10:00am race. With all of my nerves, I thought a bagel at 5am was all I could handle. Oh well, life happened and a lesson learned. That’s why I’m trying to learn as much as possible in the next year.
      Thanks for the comment!
      Tracie

      June 18, 2012
      • JD #

        So I skimmed your blog. Indeed you talk at length about training, eating etc. I presume you have run at least one marathon before? I did see mention of a half-marathon. Perhaps you might re-read what you wrote there about pace? Your times indicate you have talent for sure.

        As some background I’ve been exercising almost everyday for 30 years. Ran for many years and ran a fair number of marathons including NYC twice. Broke 3 hours for the marathon once. Seen plenty of nutrition and exercise “theories” come and go. Never DNFed. I see you mention Tim Noakes. If you don’t have Lore of Running get it. And he has continued to publish sports medicine articles.

        I’m a chemist and toxicologist by training. So I’m a skeptic and try to be fairly objective and take information from scientific studies that have shown the same result more than once. Anecdotal evidence is not something I ascribe to.

        So today let’s start with Turmeric. There are 20 full text free articles on Pubmed:
        http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?term=turmeric%20inflammation%20AND%20pubmed%20pmc%20local%5Bsb%5D%20AND%20loprovpmc%5Bsb%5D

        Look at the doses used in some of these studies. They tend to use pure oil. Yes Turmeric has anti-oxidant potential but are you eating it everyday? Is everything in your kitchen stained yellow? If not you aren’t getting enough.

        My point being there is not a super-food. It is about adequate nutrition, sleep, hydration, state of mind, genetics etc. If there was some magic bullet you can bet Olympic athletes would use it (provided it was legal)

        Another data based book:
        http://www.amazon.com/Heart-Rate-Training-Roy-Benson/dp/0736086552/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1340069751&sr=8-1&keywords=heart+rate+training

        I live in CT so I know how hot it was at Boston this year. I lived in Arizona and ran at noon all year around. I know heat. Combine that with humidity and I am not surprised people crashed and burned in Boston.

        Like I said you have talent and the right genetics.

        June 18, 2012
  4. nerdthatruns #

    You still got to go to boston – that’s an amazing achievement on its own!! Great vlog! Keep it up!

    June 18, 2012
    • Thanks for the encouragement! Life happens and a lesson learned – that’s what I take away from it all.

      June 18, 2012
  5. larry Guilliams #

    Nice job. I also fast once or twice a week. No eating before workouts and runs. It works i feel great. Been doing it for years now.

    June 18, 2012
    • Thanks Larry! I agree about the fasting and it definitely helps me to get the most out of my morning workout since I don’t have to eat beforehand.

      June 18, 2012
  6. Finally watched this – LOVING this idea, I feel like I’m getting to ‘know’ you 🙂 Haha, eminem – also a favorite of mine. 🙂 I canNOT eat before I work out, isn’t it funny how individual running really is? Can’t believe its already been a month. Looking forward to more!!

    June 18, 2012

Leave a Reply

