Skip to content

Chi Running

Over the past month, I have had the amazing opportunity to work with some pretty fabulous ladies for my running group.  We are all levels and all abilities, but we all share a common goal. To take time for ourselves, to push ourselves, and to realize all that we are capable of both mentally and physically.  Some are new to running and some have been doing it for much longer.  For me, running is the best sport ever, and although not everyone will love it as much as I do, I want everyone to be able to enjoy it.  What happens when someone says their knees hurt or they are suffering from shin splints?  I don’t want the Run Inspired. girls to ever get discouraged by the pains that so many times will derail runners.  I want them to keep going, pain free, and enjoy what I personally believe, we were born to do.

There is so much information out there and so many different opinions on how to get through or past injuries.  I read quite a bit about chi running last year so I wanted to narrow my topic to this running style that seems to have helped so many runners really thrive.  Therefore, today I ask…

What is chi running? How does it help runners and how do I learn it?

Chi running is an actual method of running that focuses on running in a more natural way.  The goal of chi running is less injuries and improved personal performance.  It was developed in 1999 by ultrarunner Danny Dreyer, and has continued to gain in popularity.  There are books, videos, and classes you can take to learn the chi running method.  For anyone in the local Raleigh, NC area, Pat’s Personal Training has a class July 7th ($150) at Shelley Lake.  I actually tried to take this same class in February but it was sold out a month in advance.  Let’s see if I can get into this one.

The idea behind chi running is to use your chi, or the energy that unites the mind, body, and spirit to energize you through your runs.  The foundation of chi running is postural alignment and relaxation.  The technique includes a focus on landing with a midfoot strike, using a forward lean and engaging core strength for propulsion, rather than leg strength.  The technique claims to be similar to that of East African runners, as they too have a relaxed and efficient stride.  Mmmmm… I wonder if I learn this technique, if I will be dominating the local running field? Probably not.

There are many ways you can learn chi running including, workshops, books, videos, and training programs.  There are actually quite a few books out there on chi running, chi walking, and chi marathoning.  I personally, am more of a hands on learner so I’m hoping to get a spot in Pat’s workshop.  I want to be able to share these techniques to my running group and I’m hoping they can keep me a little more pain free with my own running.

I hope everyone has a fabulous weekend and if you have any suggestions for blog topics, please email me (iruninspired@gmail.com)! I still have 330+ days to go.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

 

And on a side note, many congratulations to all of the graduates from CHS tonight! Best of luck in all of your future endeavors!

5 Comments Post a comment
  1. Jessie #

    I love you mrs. Rodriguez

    -Jessie

    June 9, 2012
    • Awwww, thank you Jessie! I will certainly miss you next year but please come and visit. And remember “I need to run faster. I need to work harder!”

      Lots of love!!!
      Sra. Rodriguez

      June 9, 2012
  2. Girl! you are on a roll! This is another thing I’ve been wanting to look into… sounds interesting…

    June 12, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. When Salt is a Good Thing « Sparrow in the Tree Top
  2. Running Form « Run Inspired.

Leave a Reply

