Skip to content

My Pledge for the Next 365 Days…

I recently had the pleasure to spend some time with one of my lifelong best friends.  Every time we get together I always leave feeling inspired, motivated, and like I’m a better person for having spent the last few hours with her.  Although we don’t get to see each other that often, our conversations never skip a beat.  Last Saturday as we were wrapping up our mani and pedi, she said something that really stuck with me.  She said, “I never want to settle into life.  There is something about the unknown future that is liberating and exciting.”  Her words of wisdom have been playing over and over in my head and that is what brings me here to my balcony on this Friday night, overlooking downtown Raleigh, and contemplating my unknown future.

Almost five weeks ago, I had an epic fail at the 2012 Boston Marathon.  I had worked so hard for something that fell apart right around mile 13.5.  Since then I have grieved, signed up for another race (next weekend), ran myself to an injury, and really spent some time processing who I am as a runner.  After all, what else is there to do when you are nursing an injury and tapering at the same time?  And on top of that, my fabulous husband is out of town so really, it’s just me and my thoughts.

When I think about who I am and my identity, several words come to mind: runner, motivator, teacher, learner, and ultimately a positive person who wants to share with others all that I have learned in an effort to help them be amazing.  The power of a well balanced, healthy life is so rewarding, and I think it is something we all deserve.  Running has always driven me to achieve great things, and although I have been a runner for 10+ years, there are still so many things to learn.

As I sit outside tonight, I am asking myself how can I really become a master of the thing I love so much?  I don’t want to be injured.  I want to be fast.  I want to be a healthy runner.  I want to know everything there is to know about the thing that brings me so much joy.  And I want to share it all with others in an attempt to motivate, educate, and encourage.  Therefore, I am pledging to, for the next 365 days, start my day with a running/health/fitness related question, research it, and then blog about what I have learned.  Every single day, no breaks allowed.

With that being said and 365 days of learning ahead of me, by May 19, 2013 I will turn myself into the running guru I want to be, and I know I will be a better person for my decision to work hard and never settle.  I will embrace the unknown future.  Thank you LC.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

My downtown view as the sun sets over Raleigh, NC

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. EJD #

    Go girl! Love you!

    May 20, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Lesson #1 – Persistence | Run Inspired.

Leave a Reply

