Skip to content

The Tempo Run

Thursday I did my tempo run and I wanted to honor it with a little poem.  Enjoy!

The Tempo Run

Today was my tempo run
So I thought I’d cheat a bit
With a little black coffee
For a kick in my step

A nice easy warm up
And I was feeling quite pumped
40 minutes at LT pace
My legs say “Let’s race!”

10 minutes in –
And I ask “How much longer?”
But I know i must remember
This makes me much stronger

Oh thank you iPod
The perfect Eminem:
You better lose yourself in the music, the moment
You want it, you better never let it go
You only get one shot
Do not miss your chance to blow
‘Cause opportunity comes once in a lifetime
Keep singing, stop thinking
20 minutes done, only 20 more remaining

Wait, what? 20 more remaining?
Why can’t I finish now?
But in the name of my training
For this I do vow
No more sugar
No more wine
I can do this just fine
Just help me to run,
And help me to breathe
And help my poor muscles
For I’m hearing them scream

30 minutes done, only 10 more to go
I can finish this
For that I do know
Now I must dig
For my deep inner strength
My weakness has left
My struggle has begun
So now I relax
I concentrate and I pray
Dear God-
Thank you for letting me run
But please help me to be done
For I am no Kenyan and this is no ….
BEEP!

My watch says it’s over
And I realize I’m alive
I did it, I finished.
To me, oh yeah a high-five

And now I cool down
I end like I began
And yes, you are correct
It’s really not the end

Then I start to wonder…
Since I did just put it under
Some dark chocolate with seat salt?
Or some vino with dinner?
This tempo run I think
Is an actual real winner

Pre Run

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Post Run

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Very cute poem… You’ve got skills.

    March 4, 2012
    • Thanks Adri! It was fun to write and I found a website that helped me with using words that rhyme, so that helped a lot.

      I hope you’re having a great Sunday =)
      Tracie

      March 4, 2012
  2. This is great! The next long run I do I’ll try to come up with a poem in my head. Seems like it might help it go by faster, haha. 🙂

    March 4, 2012
    • Agreed – anything that is a distraction certainly helps. If you come up with a poem, I hope you share it =)

      March 5, 2012
  3. Haha! How awesome! An Ode to the Tempo Run. Love it! Eminem made it, so that’s another plus!!!

    I won’t fuss!

    sorry, i had too. 😉

    March 4, 2012
    • That made me laugh out loud, haha! And of course I had to include some Eminem love- What’s a little rhythm and rhyme without him?? =)

      March 5, 2012
  4. Laura #

    You are too funny! Sounds like an awesome run. I’ll live vicariously through you til my ankle is back in action. 🙂

    March 7, 2012
    • Thanks Laura =) I hope your ankle gets better soon and I’ll work on a poem about injuries and dedicate it to you! =)

      March 7, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. An Ode to the Tempo Run « Run Inspired.

Leave a Reply

