Skip to content

The Best Running Podcast (ever)

I’m a huge fan of podcasts – it’s a free way to learn about any and everything.  A few days ago I reached out to my twitter followers and asked what running podcasts are worthy of a download.  I had a few responses, not many, (come on fellow tweeters – help a runner out), and someone mentioned a podcast that led me to Endurance Planet.  I have found this podcast to be the most resourceful, informative, and helpful podcast ever downloaded on my iPhone. One of the main contributors is Ben Greenfield, a master so to speak, in the art of nutrition, triathlons, and personal training.  Mr. Greenfield literally talks about everything I have always wanted to ask a professional runner.  Although he is a triathlete (and a good one at that), his information can be utilized by anyone trying to achieve a fitness goal.  I must have already listened to five (I have a little drive to and from work), and I already feel like I could answer any question you threw my way. His stuff is awesome.  Let me tell you why Ben Greenfield and Endurance Planet are worthy of your 30 minutes:

1) I’ll start with an intro to his December 15, 2011 podcast-
Ben Greenfield answers your questions on: Drinking carbonated water, will it negatively affect performance?  How should fueling change for freezing-temp bike rides?  Not eating before a marathon unless it’s at least 3 hrs prior to a race?  Caffeine intake: What is the proper timing, formulation, dose, duration for endurance performance?  Maltodextrin and glucose in fuel?  And energy drinks: how bad are they, really?

Now clearly I am not riding a bike in freezing temperatures and I’m not too familiar with maltodextrin, but I can relate to eating before a marathon and energy drinks.  There are so many other issues that he, along with the other contributors, discuss, any person interested in health would find the information useful (artificial sweeteners, intermittent fasting, the best cardio machine at the gym – really just anything you want to know.)

2) The website offers archives of all previous podcasts as well as previous articles, so you are certain to find whatever you are looking for.

3) If you have a question, just send it his way and it might be the topic of discussion for the next podcast  (I’m sending in one about the Paleo Diet, so be sure to listen out =P)

4) Most of the podcasts are pretty short (20-30 minutes), so it’s a great way to start your day while you are having your morning coffee (or putting on your makeup).

I have been searching quite some time now for a good podcast to help me with my running and fitness goals.  I’m so glad I came across Endurance Planet at 5:00am this morning, because now I feel like all I ever wanted to know is right at my fingertips (or headphones).  Thank you iTunes.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,
Tracie

Side note: Ben Greenfield has his own website with his own podcasts AND he owns Endurance Planet.  Both are incredibly helpful and well worth your time.

 

4 Comments Post a comment
  1. Cool blog. Thanks for the shout-out Tracie.

    January 4, 2012
    • Absolutely! And thanks for a great podcast – Good luck with your race goals in 2012!

      January 4, 2012
  2. Joe #

    I’m in the process of doing New Year’s housecleaning on my iTunes, so I am going to give this one a try. Thanks for the heads up! And just stumbled across the blog. Love it!!

    January 13, 2012
    • I hope you like it! Another one that has great information is the Ben Greenfield Fitness podcast. It’s usually pretty long though so I’ll listen to it during long runs. The hosts will go through a Q&A session from listeners and then have a feature topic or interview. I enjoy them both!
      Happy Friday the 13th!
      Tracie

      January 13, 2012

Leave a Reply

