Skip to content

Starting out 2012

First, and most importantly, Happy 2012! May your year be full of love, happiness, and health.

And now on to our first Monday of 2012 (the year the world may or may not end according to the Mayans) –

Today many of us are starting our week with what we are going to do differently for the rest of the year.  “This year will be different than last year and I will do better,” we tell ourselves..  Well let me be the first to say that I am no fan of resolutions. Honestly, I feel like if you want to make a change in your life then do it today, not on January 1st.  I always find it interesting that we start every January just as the previous one – with the intention to change something in our lives or to accomplish a great feat.  Then, somewhere around the month of March or April, we lose sight of what we intended at the beginning of the year.  We get side tracked, give into our weaknesses, and fail to look beyond the moment.  We become short sighted and our resolution of January becomes a distant thought only to be remembered around December.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m just as guilty of this as the next person, but  I would like to suggest that we start our new year with this thought:

Stay dedicated to your resolutions, or goals as my good friends Geoff and Alysha call them.  Right now you know exactly who you want to be in 2012.  Surround yourself with those people and things that will help to get you there.  And if the Mayans are right, you only have about 51 weeks left to do all the things you always wanted to do so you better get going.  Carpe diem.

Happy 1st Monday of 2012 and may it be a fabulous day!

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

And on a personal note, I officially start my Boston Marathon training today!! I’m definitely looking forward to the next 4 months and hopes of a 3:20 marathon.

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Hehe. Glad to hear I am not alone in not making any New Year’s resolutions… was actually a little nervous about sharing my very sincere thoughts on my first 2012 post http://foodiebefit.com/2012/01/02/about-new-years-resolutions-what-will-it-be/
    OMG! Boston marathon, that’s awesome! I would be nerve wrecked. Good luck on your training!

    January 2, 2012

Leave a Reply

