Skip to content

Strength Training Friday

I got married this past April and my wedding dress arrived three weeks before the big day.  I remember looking at it before I put it on and thinking “Is that dress for Barbie?”  Needless to say it didn’t zip.  I maybe had put on 2 pounds but with a dress that form fitting, you really don’t have a lot to work with.  Panic set in, and I immediately went to the gym and sought out the one trainer who I knew could help me, Chris Cherico.  I’ve been a member of my gym for many years and I’ve seen lots of trainers nonchalantly work out their clients and be more interested in their own muscles.  Chris, on the other hand,  is the only one who I’ve seen push people to their max, get real results, and be genuinely interested in his client’s health.

Chris’s strength training program was a new approach to weight lifting for me.  He knew I was all about the cardio and endurance so he helped me with a program that best suited my interests.  I would do lots of reps and just when I thought I was done with the set, he’d drop the weight, and I’d keep going.  There was never much down time and chit chatting between exercises.  Our conversations occurred during the reps when he was trying to keep my mind off of how many were left and how bad it hurt.  I was there to get results and I got them.  And I am happy to report that I got into my dress just fine, loved my new muscle tone, and gained quite a bit of knowledge that I still use today.

Why was Chris’s workout so awesome?  As an endurance athlete, the exercises we did focused on lower weights and higher reps. I would do 20, sometimes 30 reps, and by the end, I was really hurting. These are some of the things we did:

Shoulders:
Hold a lateral raise position for 20 seconds then do 20 lateral raises. Drop the weight and do 10-15 more.
Immediately go into an overhead shoulder press for 20 reps and then hold the position for 20 seconds.

Biceps:
Hold hammer curl position for 20 seconds and then do 10-15 hammer curls. Drop the weight and do 10-15 more.

Triceps:
Cable triceps extension with rope for 20 reps then drop the weight and do 20 more.

Legs:
Leg Press – with moderate weight, do 1 full leg press and then 10 small pulses. Do another full leg press and then 9 small pulses.  Continue doing this until you are down to 1 pulse and finish with 10 full leg presses.

Abs:
Hello TRX – this is abs, legs, and arms all rolled into one.
Pike 15 times followed by 10 pushups

AND

Tucks for 20 reps followed by pike for 10 reps

AND

Situps with feet in the TRX – 15 with hands crossed and 15 with hands overhead.
(Can’t find a good picture)

We always worked out for an hour so these are just a few of the exercises that we did.  I liked what we did mainly because it was weight lifting that incorporated endurance.  The only thing I didn’t like was Chris told me I had to cut back on the carbs on chocolate – boo!  But it was only for a month, so I managed.

As a runner, do you have any weight lifting exercises that you really like?

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Love this! I’m a runner and a strength-training addict and I’m just getting into the world of blogging. Yours is inspiring. Enjoy your Friday 🙂

    December 16, 2011
    • Thanks so much Cory!! I’m really just getting into it and trying to post about those things us runners are interested in. Thanks for the follow and knowing I have readers definitely keeps me motivated. Have a great weekend!

      December 16, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. New Directions | Run Inspired.

Leave a Reply

