Skip to content

Cross Training on the Bike

I love my New Balance Minimus shoes so much that they actually make me forget to cross train.  I feel like I could run all day everyday in those shoes, but then I do something stupid (like switch shoes), and end up injured for a month or so.  So in preparation for the Boston Marathon in April, I’m taking every preventive measure possible to avoid injury.  This includes 16 Active Release Therapy sessions already scheduled, non-negotiable cross training days, and mandatory rest days.

Cross training has many times been my saving grace.  I get injured and it allows me to continue training.  Besides allowing for active recovery, cross training has many other benefits, and if done correctly, can help improve running times.  I mentioned in my last post, other than running intervals once a week, I do bike intervals to help with speed.  I’ve never actually gotten sick while exercising at a high intensity, although I’ve often tried (obviously not hard enough).  Anyway, bike intervals have often times brought me close to that point, and I do believe they have been quite effective in increasing my leg power. I’ll put on my Livestrong bracelet, start my Eminem playlist, and go at it.  Luckily, it’s a fairly short workout so if you can get through 30 minutes, you’re done. If you’re looking to incorporate more cross training and have access to a bike, I’d like to suggest this workout:

First, start some high energy music (it helps get you pumped up- I recommend Eminem “Fast Lane”)

  • Warm up for for five minutes
  • For the next five minutes, alternate one minute of high speed/high intensity (intensity level 6-7) intervals with one minute of high speed/low intensity intervals
  • For the next 20 minutes, alternate one minute with high speed/high intensity (intensity level 8-9) intervals with one minute of high speed/low intensity intervals

(As you get closer to the 30 minute mark, you might need to lower the speed of the recovery intervals to recover properly – your legs will be getting tired)

  • If you’re training for longer distances, you can ride out the next thirty minutes, alternating 5 minutes of hard, low speed intervals with easy, fast speed intervals

Call it a day when you’re done, stretch, and enjoy a recovery snack within 30 minutes of finishing your workout.

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Nice. I’m going to try this on my cross day. Thanks for sharing. I think you would get a lot out of the Herbalife 24 product line. If you want to try it, let me know. The post workout, 24 Rebuild Endurance is my favorite.

    December 15, 2011
    • Thanks Chuck! I’d absolutely love to try some Herbalife. Where can I get it?

      December 15, 2011

Leave a Reply

