Skip to content

Spinach, Maca, and a Whole Lotta Energy

I don’t remember where I first read about maca powder, but I do remember my student’s response after my first maca and spinach smoothie – “Ms. Talbert! (I wasn’t yet married)  What did you eat this morning? You are all over the place and it isn’t even 7:15!!.”  In fact, they even went so far as to say I wasn’t allowed to have any more of this maca stuff before school because they couldn’t handle my energy level (and this was sans coffee).  If it had been any day other than a school day, I may have just gone out and run my own 26.2 miles and then went shopping.  However, I was at work so the students got to reap the benefits.  This stuff had me going and maca became, from that point on, a staple in my smoothie adventures.

One only need to Google maca to learn all about the health benefits and exercise enhancing abilities of this superfood.  When I first learned about it, it reminded me of chia seeds and Born to Run by Christopher McDougall – a superfood that would increase endurance, stamina, and strength.  Sweet!  After learning about it, I just happened to purchase a cookbook from Rich Roll, which had quite a few references to maca.  I quickly decided it must be worth something if Mr. Roll was using it.  After all, he’s not just an Ironman, he’s and ULTRA Ironman (which is the equivalent to three Ironman races in three days).  Apparently, maca is where it’s at!

Of course I could have purchased my maca online, but I was desperate for this stuff like yesterday.  So I headed to Whole Foods, found some maca with cacao nibs (even MORE superfood), and went home to the VitaMix.  My first attempt didn’t come out great, but with lots of practice, I finally started to get it right.  If you’re looking for that pre-workout drink to give you a little extra boost, try this recipe and let me know how you use all of that extra energy.  Who knows how far you might run today….:

Spinach, Maca, Fruit Smoothie (pre-workout)

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • handful of strawberries, mango, or pineapple
  • handful of fresh or frozen spinach
  • almond milk
  • a spoonful of maca powder
  • ice cubs

Put it all in the VitaMix and blend.  Enjoy! (And be sure to have a good workout planned – you’re going to rock it!)

Happy Trails and Happy Running,

Tracie

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. jenny #

    Looks yummy! Can’t wait to try it. Although I will have to wait until after the baby is born. I think a baby in utero souped-up on maca might not be the best thing for me.

    January 3, 2012
    • Haha – yes Jenny I agree. The baby might be coming a little sooner than expected if you have too much Maca. I’ll make you a smoothie after Baby Diaz arrives =)

      January 3, 2012

Leave a Reply

